Josef Newgarden

Numbers to note from the Firestone 600 -- the ninth round of the Verizon Indy Car Series season:

3 – Positions gained by Marco Andretti in the final 23 laps of the race (eighth to fifth).

3.59 – Average running position of winner Scott Dixon for the 248 laps of racing at Texas Motor Speedway.

9 – Drivers who led at least one lap, the most to lead a Texas race since June 2002.

10 – Top-five finishes at Texas by Helio Castroneves, who placed third. Castroneves has four wins among his seven podiums at Texas Motor Speedway.

11 – Positions improved by Ryan Briscoe (19th to eighth), most of any driver in the race.

14 – Lead changes in the Firestone 600, the most at Texas since June 2008.

35 – Laps in which Briscoe improved his position – most of any driver in the Firestone 600.

37 – Indy car victories for Scott Dixon, which ranks fifth all time. Dixon is two wins behind Al Unser Jr. for fourth.

40 – Indy car poles for Will Power, who tied Rick Mears for fifth all time and extended his streak of front-row starts to six races.

99 – Indy car wins for cars owned by Chip Ganassi.

242 – Consecutive starts by Tony Kanaan, extending his record.

1,172 – On-track passes during the Firestone 600. Kanaan led all drivers with 87.